Wrexham releases Captain Luke Young and 7 others.
Connect with us

Wrexham AFC

Wrexham releases Captain Luke Young and 7 others.



Wrexham have sacked first-team captain Luke Young and club captain Ben Tozer, as part of a flurry of movements made on Friday.

Long-time goalkeeper Rob Lainton will also leave the club, as will defenders Aaron Hayden, Jordan Tunnicliffe, and Callum McFadzean, as well as Owen Cushion and Dan Davies.

“I’d like to thank all the players for their efforts over the last few years. They’ve all played a part in our success and I’d like to wish them all the best for the future,” manager Phil Parkinson said.

“The professionalism shown by all the lads has been excellent, and likewise those who have not been playing as regularly still play an important part with their attitudes and standards off the pitch.

“Ben Tozer and Luke Young have not had as much game time in the last few months, but as club captain and first-team captain they have showed great leadership for the Club.

“All the players leaving the Club go with our very grateful thanks for their efforts and contributions during their time at Wrexham.”

The club also stated that James McLean’s contract has been automatically renewed, and offers will be made to Steven Fletcher, Mark Howard, and Aaron James.

After Scott Butler’s loan stay at Marine FC ends, a decision will be taken about his future.

Wrexham has been promoted from the National League to EFL League One for the second time in a row.

Fleur Robinson, the club’s chief executive officer for the last three years, will also leave at the end of the season.

“It has been a privilege to lead Wrexham as CEO for past three years,” Robinson said in a statement. “I am proud that I leave the club in a much better position on and off the pitch than when I arrived.”


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved