Six PNE players are out of contract at Deepdale
Connect with us

Preston North End

Six PNE players are out of contract at Deepdale



Preston North End’s retained list for the 2023/24 season is likely to arrive on Saturday.

The Lilywhites have yet to clarify which players will be leaving Deepdale this summer. Alan Browne, the club captain, stands out among the names on the list. North End has made an offer to the Republic of Ireland international, but his ten-and-a-half-year contract with PNE might be terminated. The captain appeared emotional in the last few games of the season.

Greg Cunningham, Ched Evans, and Patrick Bauer, all accomplished players, are also in their final weeks. The latter’s departure seemed inevitable, given his lack of appearances in the last 18 months. The German defender, who signed in 2019, was advised in January that he might go and would not be considered for the squad until injured.

Ben Woodburn’s future will also be revealed, after the former Liverpool player joined North End two years ago. Finally, midfielder Lewis Leigh’s loan agreement expires. The 20-year-old will compete in the League Two play-off final against Crewe Alexandra on Sunday. Ryan Lowe, the manager, was scheduled to brief players about their futures on Sunday, May 5, following West Brom’s away game.

He stated, “It’s all difficult, but as I said, we’ve got to do the right thing for the football club.” There are players who will move on while remaining. It is never personal; it is simply a matter of carrying out your responsibilities. We have to use the money that is going out to bring in new players and targets to freshen things up, and that is exactly what we will do.”

There are also ten second-year scholars to make selections on. Kacper Pasiek, a left back, is the main prospect for a professional contract. He spent time on loan at Warrington Town last season and has previously trained with the first team. Tommy Davis (GK), Cole McGhee (DF), Tom Wilkinson (DF), Kaedyn Kamara (MF), Izac Khan (MF), Ellis Horan (MF), Charlie Goldsmith (MF), Ethan Eccleston (FW), and Callum Havard (FW) are the remaining nine names.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved