BREAKING: Portsmouth announces shock decisions on retained...
Connect with us

Portsmouth FC

BREAKING: Portsmouth announces shock decisions on retained list.



Pompey have carried out a merciless culling of their title heroes, with a large number of players leaving Fratton Park.

The Blues have published their retained list, with long-serving defender Sean Raggett leaving PO4.

Raggett’s departure will be felt by supporters, coming so soon after the longest-serving member of Mousinho’s side won League One after five years with the club. Right-back Joe Rafferty is also on his way, having played a key role in his team’s championship victory this season.

Pompey have unexpectedly decided not to exercise Joe Morrell’s contract option, and the same goes for Zak Swanson.

However, talks over new terms are ongoing for the two, so the door is not completely closed.

Marlon Pack and Connor Ogilvie have been granted new contracts, with the two being sought as part of John Mousinho’s Championship adventure.

Pack has confirmed himself as a Fratton legend after leading Pompey to the title and being awarded The News’ player of the season.

Ogilvie has been a pillar of consistency for the team over the last three years and appears likely to stay in the Championship.

Toby Steward, a talented goalkeeper, is likely to sign new terms with Fratton.

Midfielder Lee Evans and goalkeeper Matt Macey leave, as does winger Josh Martin, who joined this season.

Homegrown star Haji Mnoga is also on his way after spending the season on loan at Aldershot. The Somers Town player is the longest-serving registered player, having made his senior debut in 2018.

Harry Jewitt-White of Hayling Island has a similar story, having spent this season with Havant and Waterlooville and making two Bristol Street Motors Trophy outings.

Josh Dockerill has been discharged after sustaining a major knee injury at Gosport last July while on a one-year contract.

Ryan Schofield and Liam Vincent also go, marking a massive clearout ahead of Pompey’s Championship return.

Tino Anjorin, Alex Robertson, Abu Kamara, and Myles Peart-Harris return to their parent clubs after loan spells.

Colby Bishop, Terry Devlin, Paddy Lane, Callum Lang, Tom Lowery, Tom McIntyre, Owen Moxon, Will Norris, Regan Poole, Christian Saydee, Anthony Scully, Conor Shaughnessy, Jack Sparkes, Ben Stevenson, Toby Steward, Ryley Towler, Gavin Whyte, and Kusini Yengi are all under contract for next season.

Mitch Aston, Kevin Bosaka, Sam Folarin, Jack Fox, Maxwell Hurst, Harvey Laidlaw, Koby Mottoh, Dan Murray, Destiny Ojo, Malachi Osei-Owusu, Brian Quarm, and Bastian Smith are among the academy scholars discharged.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved